Home » My Thoughts » Weeks 7 – 10

Weeks 7 – 10

MAKING REAL HEADWAY

I’ve fallen behind in some of our daily exercises, but it’s for a very good reason — I’m actually DOING what my DMP dictates! For the first time in many years, I feel as if I am actually making real headway in my life.

I didn’t realize till just now that the four weeks I’ve missed writing on my blog are the four weeks of November. Why is that significant? Well…

November is National Novel Writing Month, affectionately known as NaNoWriMo, where participants commit to writing 50,000 words of fiction during the month of November. This was my twelfth year of participation, and I have yet to finish the novel God put in my heart to write eleven years ago. I was determined to make real progress on it this year — and I did! I’m not finished even the first draft yet, but I’ve made tremendous strides in that direction.

I’ve also been immersed in writing courses and reading books in the genre I’m writing in. As usual, one of my biggest areas of struggle is FOCUS, because I have ideas for stories for chapter books, middle grade books, and young adult. The first step is to zero in on one of those categories. Easy peasy. Not!

LINKING AND CONNECTING

One of my favourite pasttimes is doing jigsaw puzzles on Jigsaw Planet, while listening to an audiobook. The biggest they offer is a 300 piece puzzle, but that’s challenge enough. I love watching small chunks grow to larger ones, and then suddenly seeing how whole sections fit together.

That’s what the MKMMA experience is like.

I keep hearing the same message from different sources, and the pieces are beginning to come together for me in marvellous ways. Consider the following…

“Through the principle of auto-suggestion, any desire that I persistently hold in my mind will eventually seek expression through some practical means of attaining the object back of it.”
– Blueprint Builder, Third Paragraph

“Concentrate on what you want, not on what you don’t want.”
– Charles Haanel, Lesson 7

“What we think about grows.”
– Mark J, Week 7 video

“I choose all the conditions of my life, when I choose the thoughts upon which I allow my mind to dwell.”
– Emmet Fox, 7-Day Mental Diet

And most important to me, the words of the Lord God Himself in His Word:

“And be not conformed to this world: but be ye transformed by the renewing of your mind, that ye may prove what is that good, and acceptable, and perfect, will of God.
– Romans 12:2

“Casting down imaginations, and every high thing that exalteth itself against the knowledge of God, and bringing into captivity every thought to the obedience of Christ”
– 2 Corinthians 10:5

“Finally, brethren, whatsoever things are true, whatsoever things are honest, whatsoever things are just, whatsoever things are pure, whatsoever things are lovely, whatsoever things are of good report; if there be any virtue, and if there be any praise, think on these things.”
– Philippians 4:8

SCROLL II

We were reminded recently of the old story of the north wind and the sun, who were both sure they could make a man take his coat off. The brute force of the north wind only made the man wrap his coat more tightly around himself… but the warmth of the sun made him choose to take the coat off. In the same way…

“Muscle can split a shield and even destroy life but only the unseen power of love can open the hearts of men…”
– Og Mandino, Scroll II

SO MUCH MORE!

There’s so much more I could share in so many areas — The Gal in the Glass… No Opinions… Giving and Receiving — but it’s time to move on to Week 11!

3 thoughts on “Weeks 7 – 10

  1. I’m so glad you’re back Willena : I had hoped you weren’t truly MIA 🙂 Fantastic post and I am so glad you’re linking in so many of the different connectors : looking forward to next week’s read 🙂

    Like

  2. Its great that you’ve clicked back in…. You have some amazingly powerful quotes there! I’m looking forward to being along with you on this journey!!! It sounds like you have such an incredible passion for writing!!!! This is a great outlet for it 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

