Home » My Thoughts » Week 3 – Goals and the Subconscious Mind

Week 3 – Goals and the Subconscious Mind

scroll-1

The Greatest Salesman, Scroll 1

“… the value of experience is overrated, usually by old men who nod wisely and speak stupidly.”

This makes me smile every time I read it. Years ago, I thought white hair meant a person was much wiser than I, and I was amazed to discover that is not always true. Yes, they had been through a lot more of life’s experiences than I had, but personal experience often leads someone to the wrong conclusions. It’s better to learn through the experiences of others who have already gone down the path I’m starting on, learned to avoid the pitfalls and navigate the rough spots, AND come to the right conclusions.

“In truth, the only difference between those who have failed and those who have succeeded, lies in the differences of their habits. Good habits are the key to all success. Bad habits are the unlocked door to failure.”

I have several friends who are successful authors. I knew them as young adults, before they ever started writing. I’ve wanted to be a published author since I was a young teen. Why have they succeeded, and I have not? Not long ago it hit me that ONLY reason is that they acted on their desire, and have worked at it consistently through the years. Good habits are the key to all success.

The Master Key – Part 3

“The subconscious mind cannot argue; it only acts. It accepts the conclusions of the objective mind as final.”

Conscious thought is the master, and the quality of the thought we entertain determines the quality of what comes forth from the subconscious. It’s so important that we guard diligently what we allow into our conscious mind, because it is the watchman at the gate to the subconscious. If I go on believing the lies I’ve told myself all my life, my Subby will go on bringing negative circumstances into my life — it will keep me stuck where I’ve been for a long time. But as I become established in my new blueprint — my DMP, or Definite Major Purpose — it will reprogram my Subby, and things will turn around for me.

GOAL word on blue cubes

My DMP

Last night I was working on a writing course by Steve Alcorn and his daughter, Dani, who are both writers and writing instructors. They were role playing, he as a student, she as an instructor. She wanted him to improve on a sentence, making it more descriptive and colourful without overdoing it. He must have done eight revisions, when he said, “NOW am I done?”

“Well, it’s really good,” she said. “But it’s just missing one more thing.”

That’s what I feel like, with my DMP revisions. It seems I didn’t learn much at all, going through the Master Key Experience the first time, two years ago.

My conscious mind knows what I mean, but it’s my subconscious mind I have to convince. And that can be done only by being very specific in every detail.

I am amazed at how long it’s taking me to nail down my two primary PPNs. That’s Personal Pivotal Needs, for those who don’t know. How can I be so dense about my own needs — to the point of not even knowing what they are? Mark says this confusion indicates that I’m a control freak. I wonder if he truly believes a person enjoys feeling stupid and confused?

I’ll be so glad when I’m finished revising my DMP. Not because it will be the end of my frustrations, but because that will the be the BEGINNING! The STARTING point of my new life! It will mean the confusion is gone, and I’ll see the clear path ahead, as far as knowing exactly what my goals are, and how I am going to attain them.

I’m looking forward to that!!!

5 thoughts on “Week 3 – Goals and the Subconscious Mind

  1. Hi; this is Rick Mahoney and I have also struggled with my PPNs. I also remember your posts from two years ago. Liked them then, and see you emerging here. I think we cling to the branches because we have not yet become the birds within. We can fly when we go from undifferentiated to differentiated and get to be whatever we want when we want and need. We ARE one with the universal after all; made by him, like him!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Willena – round 2 for you in this guided journey – thank you for being honest – I love what you have written – I would love for you to see through my eyes what you have written – much like your struggle to get the words clear for you subby – look at what you have attached yourself to in your blog … confusion – when something else happens then you can ‘begin’ – beautiful lady – you are enough, you have begun, you will get there – Law of Growth this stuff and let your PPNs flow – I’ve changed mine – then I’ve changed mine again – I look at the change like another layer coming off and the new having a different focus – just go for it with gusto – and if it sits funny – change it and gusto again – love the process – not the confusion – love, love, love then love again. You are sooooooooooo close! You just need to release and step into it. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank you for that reminder, Natalie — I needed it! And you’re right. I was so close. I changed my PPNs a couple of times too, before my guide suggested that I read my DMP objectively, with the list of 7 PPNs in hand. Only then did I see what was staring me in the face all along. That elusive PPN is now nailed, and my pathway IS clear. I’m relieved and delighted that it’s so!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

