Home » My Thoughts » Week 23 – The Law of Least Effort

Week 23 – The Law of Least Effort

It takes less effort to succeed than to fail.

The drug addict knows it. No matter how miserable he feels, he has to get up in the morning and find a way to get money to get more drugs.

The morbidly overweight person knows it. Excess weight makes the simplest tasks laborious and unbearably uncomfortable. She lives with guilt, bombarded with accusations that it’s her own fault. The longer she waits to change, the harder it is to change.

YOU know it. Have you ever been faced with a task you just did not want to do? You probably thought it was easier not to do it than to just do it. And kept thinking so, the whole time — hours, days, weeks or even months — that you put it off. In the end, you HAD to do the thing, and it wasn’t so bad after all. Wouldn’t it have been easier just to do the thing in the first place?

“Do you really want a different life, or are you just wanting to improve the life you have?” ~ Mark Januszewski

Most people would say they want a different life, but they don’t know what it means. They don’t want to change. They’d rather stay where they are, never dreaming how much more effort they’re expending on their failure. What they really need is to learn and apply the Law of Least Effort.

There are three parts to the law. Very simply…

LAW OF LEAST EFFORT

1. Acceptance
I must accept things the way they are, and not the way I wish they would be, especially when it comes to other people’s behaviour. I can’t control them, nor should I wish to.

2. Responsibility
In other words, the ability to respond differently. I can choose to use negative feelings, such as fear, anger, loss, as tools and opportunities for growth.

3. Defenselessness
I must stop defending my point of view. Even, and especially to myself! I waste time, energy and creativity by defending myself and my point of view in my own head.

“The Law of Least Effort unlocks the door to effortlessness and sets you up for a tremendous launch, or commencement, into the next part of your personal journey.” ~ Mark Januszewski

As we come to the end of our six month journey in the Master Key Master Mind Alliance, I can see how far I’ve come — and I also see how far I have to go yet in applying the lessons daily. Proof positive: being five days late with this blog post. :p But beating myself up for what I haven’t done is counterproductive. Instead of that, I “just do it!”

8 thoughts on “Week 23 – The Law of Least Effort

  1. Hi Willena,
    I am loving this series. I like the way you started out this blog by giving the analogy of a drug addict and a person overweight.

    We, as bloggers and business owners need to apply this to our daily lives. Indeed, we must first accept the way we are, take responsibility of our actions and thoughts, and most of all never defend our point of view. This to me, all leads to a more peaceful existence.

    Be Blessed,

    -Donna

    Like

  2. I enjoyed your blog – especially “Most people would say they want a different life, but they don’t know what it means. They don’t want to change. They’d rather stay where they are, never dreaming how much more effort they’re expending on their failure. What they really need is to learn and apply the Law of Least Effort.” How true this statement is – goes along with you can bring a horse to water … if only others can open up and see what we see –

    Like

  3. Hello Willena, Love that positive attitude of yours my friend! You are so right, it doens’t matter if our blog post is a day or two late, what matters is that we get it done. Right?

    Thanks for sharing.. Chery :))

    Like

  4. The self talk is the hardest and least productive as you stated but when we can get past it our efforts can be amazing. Keep up the great work.

    Like

  5. Willena,
    I love this blog post and I watched the video and took notes. I have 3 projects in the works and I am determined to just do it. And I love what Art Williams said about winners. They just do it and do it and do it and do it – until the job gets done. I am so tired of those people who brag about their simple system (that I may have tried and found out it was not so simple for me). I am so tired so those people who lecture me that I am still doing this stuff, with an attitude that you should have gotten to whatever their idea of success is, by now. I’m tired of all the hype. What Art talks about and what I have seen over and over again with highly successful people is that they just do it and do it and do it until the job gets done.

    Thank you my friend for sharing this invaluable lesson. I will be looking at your previous posts that I missed.

    Warmly,

    Dr. Erica

    Like

Leave a Reply

