Home » My Thoughts » Week 22 – Master of My Emotions

Week 22 – Master of My Emotions

This month in the Master Key Course, we are reading Og Mandino’s Scroll VI. The core of this scroll is:

“Today I will be master of my emotions.”

Og points out the fact that nature consists of countless cycles — ocean tides, seasons, sun and moon, planting and harvest, just to name a few. Some of these cycles look like death, but it’s always the means of new life.

“Today’s dead flower carries the seed of tomorrow’s bloom;
So too does today’s sadness carry the seed of tomorrow’s joy.”

What a powerful picture of what happens in each of our daily lives! Even if today’s flower died without ever coming to seed — like a young life being cut down without the person ever marrying and bringing forth new life in the form of a child — that person left an indelible mark on the lives of those around him, which will have an effect for a long time to come. The loss of our son James has had a profound effect on Ian and me, and our other six children — and much of that effect is positive. To this day, our kids will talk about this song, or that game, a special memory, or an act of service and unselfishness that he shared with them.

These cycles are common to all of us. No matter what has happened in my life, good or bad, it isn’t unique to me. If it’s good, I can rejoice and be thankful. If it’s bad, I can still rejoice and be thankful, because things could always be worse, and because “bad” things are an opportunity for growth.

“Like the tides, my moods will rise, my moods will fall.”

The thing to remember is, I have a choice over what effect it will have on me.

“Today I will be master of my emotions.”

How am I supposed to do that? By taking deliberate action that will counter the negative thoughts or emotions I am having. Og lists a number of them, but the two that stand out most for me are…

** If I feel depressed, I will sing.
** If I feel sad, I will laugh.

It’s hard to stay down in the dumps, while I’m singing or laughing. 🙂

“Weak is he who permits his thoughts to control his actions.
Strong is is he who forces his actions to control his thoughts.”

Scroll VI ties in with Charles Haanel’s Master Key Chapter 22.

“You will find that thoughts are spiritual seeds, which, when planted in the subconscious mind, have a tendency to sprout and grow, but unfortunately the fruit is frequently not to our liking.”

When we master our emotions, we will always like the results. Instead of darkness, we will enjoy sunshine… instead of sickness, strength and health… instead of poverty, abundance and wealth.

Hence, as Scroll VI says:

“Trees and plants depend on the weather to flourish
but I make my own weather, yea I transport it with me.”

I make my own sunshine and refreshing rain, to make the garden of my life grow the kind of fruit I want to enjoy.

21 thoughts on “Week 22 – Master of My Emotions

  1. Love, this we all have to master our emotions in the many ways as they do emb and flow and go in many different directions if we let them.

    Andy

    Like

  2. What a beautiful message Willena. I love and agree with this part of the post -“When we master our emotions, we will always like the results. Instead of darkness, we will enjoy sunshine… instead of sickness, strength and health… instead of poverty, abundance and wealth”

    Thanks for sharing
    Vivette

    Like

  3. Hello Willena, Yes we do have the ability inside each of us to control the outcome of certain situations HUH? I absolutely love and agree with your statement “It’s hard to stay down in the dumps, while I’m singing or laughing.”

    Just yesterday I found that my Pay Pal was Hacked, Yes I did feel terrible about this and did indeed get everything taken care of. It took 2 hours of phone work to get all the issues resolved.

    Now I could have went on brooding about this all day, but instead I picked up the phone again and started to make dials. I had so many wonderful conversations that I forgot all about my problems and helped others to solve theirs.

    Oh Yeh I was dancing and singing the rest of the night..

    So Yes it is up to each of us to master our emotions.

    Thanks for sharing..Chery :))

    Like

  4. I absolutely love this line: “Trees and plants depend on the weather to flourish
    but I make my own weather, yea I transport it with me.”… that says so much .. where ever we go, we bring ourselves with us … and knowing this Willena I am grateful because I know emotions are fleeting and I have the power to change them … much love to you

    Like

  5. It is a great thing to be master of your emotions… I feel we should acknowledge the emotion and it’s reason for being there and then turn it’s vibration to a positive tone like singing (love that one!) laughing, dancing… or whatever lifts our spirit.
    A beautiful post Willena ❤
    Jacs

    Like

  6. You can master your emotions very effectively, Willena, when you pretend or act out the role you intend for yourself.

    It’s as simple as “If I feel sad, I will laugh.”

    It’s easy to do when you just put yourself on the path you want to be on. The action comes first, the emotions will fall in line.

    Like

  7. Wow Willena! This is a beautiful post. I thank you for sharing your emotions of the death of your son. That is an incredible journey to realize what beauty he has left with you and your family. I know many people would not feel the same way. I commend you for your strength and courage.

    Thanks for the inspiration,
    Lillian

    Like

  8. Hi Willena,
    this is a nice article, it is true we can control our emotion if we notice them.
    Like you write we can make our own weather and choose what we want to experience.
    We can change our thoughts and look for the good in everything.
    I like this:”It’s hard to stay down in the dumps, while I’m singing or laughing.”
    Good to use this 🙂
    Thank you
    Erika

    Like

  9. One of the best cues that we have about whether we are living our truth is our emotional state. However, to find truth from our emotions they need to be about the current moment and not based off of reliving something that happened in the past.

    Like

Leave a Reply

