Home » My Thoughts » Week 20 – The Hedgehog and the Fox

Week 20 – The Hedgehog and the Fox

It’s not that the Master Key Course is winding down. Far from it! But with five months behind us and only one month ahead of us, we are moving quickly toward the time when the weekly webinars, homework assignments, and masterminding forum will no longer be there. Will I be ready to continue on my own?

We’ve been working toward independence all along, with our daily exercises and tricks for re-educating our subconscious minds. For example:

2 ACCELERATORS

What am I pretending not to know?
What would the person I intend to become, do next?

Before MKMMA, I would have allowed those two questions and their answers to make me feel guilty, and used them to beat myself up. Now, I see them as accelerators — and I have the tools for using them to propel me into the future, toward the person I was designed to be.

The Hedgehog and the Fox” is an essay written by Isaiah Berlin, in 1953.

“I never meant it very seriously,” he said. “I meant it as a kind of enjoyable intellectual game, but it was taken seriously. Every classification throws light on something.”

THE FOX

– sees lots of things, and sees the complexities
– collects more and more information

THE HEDGEHOG

– focuses on only one thing
– spends 80% of his time there

There’s nothing wrong with being one or the other. Berlin lists a number of famous writers and thinkers who fit into one or the other. But when it comes to business, a fox will never make it. You need the focus of the hedgehog.

So let’s see how this works in business.

TOP 10 LIST

Make a list of the ten things you consider most important in your business. It’s great to have them all in front of you, but that’s only the first step. You’re still a FOX.

NARROW IT DOWN TO 5

We’re getting there….

PAIRED COMPARISON

Starting at the top, compare each one against the others for importance.

Compare 1-2, 1-3, 1-4, 1-5
Compare 2-3, 2-4, 2-5
Compare 3-4, 3-5
Compare 4-5

Put a check mark beside the more important. Then put an A beside the one with the most check marks, and a B beside the one with the next most. Now you know where to put your focus — what drives your economic engine.

That’s the HEDGEHOG concept!

Give your A activity at least 50% of your time, and your B activity 25%. Always. Schedule them in and let nothing stand in the way of your doing them. And NO MULTI-TASKING!! Remove or turn off any possible distractions and give yourself wholly to that activity.

Do this, and you’ll be amazed at how quickly your business grows, how well everything fits together, and how much time you still have for all the other things in your life.

I love this, because it cuts through all the shiny object syndrome, confusion and overwhelm that has so characterized my life for much of my life. And because it works not only in business, but in a number of other areas of my life. Cuz let’s face it…

If you’re not making progress, you are either hanging onto what you don’t need, or not claiming what you do need.

12 thoughts on “Week 20 – The Hedgehog and the Fox

  1. Hi Willena,

    I love the example of the hedgehog and the fox. I like to focus on what I’m doing so not to be distracted by shiny objects or anything else!

    I do this kind of thing and write things down like the fox. But then I have to be the hedgehog, pin focused and never doing anything else. Yes, it does work well. And sure beats the heck out of being overwhelmed.

    Great concept!

    -Donna

    Like

  2. Brilliant message Willena! I’m a BIG believer in planning and set aside the last day of every month to review the month just completed, what worked and what didn’t and to make sure I’m still on track. It’s an invaluable process and I love the strategy you’ve shared!

    Like

  3. Hi Willena,

    I love this post, focus is so important. I’m getting better at it as I get older. My problem has never been on how to focus on being able to focus it has been on focusing on the wrong things.

    Thank you for sharing your beautiful post,

    Beth

    Like

  4. Hi Willena and congratulations that you are coming to the day when you will be on your own. You can do it, you know you can. I enjoyed reading this post and you have given me a few new ideas to apply to my business. Thanks and have a wonderful day.

    Like

  5. Nice way to describe the process of running a successful business, Willena.

    We need to have big vision, and spend some “fox” time understanding how to put it all into workable strategies. But I’d say 80% of our time needs to be spent “hedgehogging”… getting it done.

    But yes, absolutely, come up for air on a regular basis to revisit your big dreams, your vision for why you’re spending 80% of your time in the dirt!

    Like

Leave a Reply

