Home » My Thoughts » Week 19 – Friday the 13th

Week 19 – Friday the 13th

Ian & Willena - Feb. 13, 1982What does Friday the 13th mean to you?

My mom was born on Friday May 13th, 1932. And yesterday, Friday February 13th, was Ian’s and my 33rd wedding anniversary. Nothing negative there! Nothing neutral either. Both are very positive, special days.

“Fear is a powerful form of thought.” – Charles Haanel

They said we should not get married. They said we’d never last. They said Ian didn’t think things through. They said we hadn’t been engaged long enough. They said I wasn’t sure enough.

“They” were all people I highly respected and trusted. People who had given me wise counsel during difficult times in the past. But this time, they were wrong.

“The way to overcome fear is to become conscious of power.” – Charles Haanel

We all need the wise counsel of friends who can perhaps see things we are too blind to see. But in this case, I knew some things that they didn’t. Most important, I knew my “doubts” were nothing more than cold feet — a natural reaction of one who already knows what she wants, but is afraid to make big commitments.

Instead we listened to Ian’s brother Glenn (who married us) and sister Eva.

Glenn said, “Think seriously, and pray about this decision. Be sure you know you will be more together than you will ever be separately.”

Kind of like 1+1=3. Or, in other words, a mastermind! We knew that’s exactly what we would be.

Eva said, “I can see it now. Ian and Willena in a canoe, heading for the falls and they don’t even notice because they’re so deep in conversation!”

She meant it in a good way, and she was right. We’ve gone through some pretty rough times over the years, and it has always been one of our strongest points that we can talk through just about anything. When the communication lines are open, and you choose to believe the best of one another, there’s no way you can go wrong. Brick upon brick, you build on that strong foundation, and it will not easily crumble.

What am I pretending not to know?

Ian & Willena - Feb. 13, 2012That is a question I’ve been asking myself lately. When things pile up and life is chaotic, it’s easy to get overwhelmed and say, “What should I do? I don’t know what to do!” It’s never true. The answers are there, either in my heart of hearts already, or in the still, small voice of my Lord Jesus Christ, who waits patiently for me to stop muddling around and listen to Him.

I knew the answer 33 years ago. And I know the answer now.

“Blessed are they for whom to know is to take action on it.” – Isabella Alden

12 thoughts on “Week 19 – Friday the 13th

  1. Hi Willena,

    Happy Anniversary!!! Wishing you both all the best!!
    Being married 10 1/2 yrs now there have definitely been some great and bad times but you are so right- keeping the lines of communication open is essential to a good marriage.

    Take Care
    Best,
    Monisha

    Like

  2. Happy Anniversary and congratulations on 33 years together, Willena. Friday 13th doesn’t bring such good memories for me as it was the date my father died and even after all these years I can’t help but associate the two.

    Like

  3. Willena, I am still wiping away the tears of joy from reading another fabulous blog from you. You are so right. Listen to your heart. Isn’t that what we have been learning all these weeks, but you phrase things beautifully.
    Happy Anniversary.

    Like

  4. What a lovely post. I love the face that you fought through all the negative things people were telling you and went with your heart and head. 🙂 Happiness is all around us.. We need to do what feels right and ignore others ..sometimes.. it’s not easy but then never is life easy 😉

    William

    Like

Leave a Reply

