Home » My Thoughts » Week 17 – Ease and Perfection are Gained by Repetition

Week 17 – Ease and Perfection are Gained by Repetition

“Weakness is the only barrier to mental attainment; attribute your weakness to physical limitations or mental uncertainties and try again; ease and perfection are gained by repetition.” ~ Charles Haanel

Ease and perfection are gained by repetition.

In this week’s webinar, we were told the meaning of “dog days of summer”, in the context of baseball. After the novelty and excitement of the early weeks has worn off, come the long weeks of practice — and the danger of boredom. Those who diligently practice, with enthusiasm, will prove themselves good teammates and make it to the end of the season.

This reminds me of the summer I was expecting my first baby. I did not have a sewing machine, so I decided to sew a maternity dress by hand. It had to be possible. After all, the pioneer women had sewed their beautiful dresses all by hand. So I found a pattern I liked, and bought some pretty light blue flowered polyester cotton fabric. At first, I was surprised at how quickly the work went. But it wasn’t long before I was in that endless middle stage when I thought I would never be done. At last one day I was in the final stretch, and the work went quickly again. I was so pleased with the result that I went out and bought fabric and made a second dress by hand!

It’s the same with writing a book. My outline is in place, and I expect to write 42 chapters. The first 5 chapters go quickly. And then I’m “muddling in the middle” as a favourite writing instructor calls it. Will this never end? And then… and then… I’m in the last 5 chapters, and suddenly the end looks very near.

Ease and perfection are gained by repetition.

No one is saying repetition is easy. We’re still in the middle portion of our MKMMA course. Two-thirds of the way through. It would be easy to get bogged down and discouraged, and not do the work. But the whole course is designed to keep us interested and enthusiastic, by continually stimulating on our subconscious mind. Accomplishment and gratitude cards remind us of what we have done with our lives… the Franklin Makeover keeps us observing and noticing and performing acts that will help us grow… No need for boredom here, and every reason to be diligent and enthusiastic about these exercises that move us toward our goals and a glorious final stretch.

Ease and perfection are gained by repetition.

12 thoughts on “Week 17 – Ease and Perfection are Gained by Repetition

  1. I love this posting, and can relate to it directly. I have played Tennis for 62 years and I taught Tennis Professionally for 20 years. The first year cannot be called playing. It consists of hit 3 balls, pick up 3 balls. It takes approx 1 year to reach a point of rallying back and forth and from there it really gets to be fun. From there on and forever it takes practice, practice, and more practice. No mater how skilled you become it takes practice to stay there or get better. I cannot count the number of balls I have hit, I believe it must be in the millions and hitting a Tennis ball is now as natural as walking. NEVERTHELESS you stop, you age, you lose the edge. Fortunately with age comes wisdom and you play smarter. Persistent practice and better, smarter use of the skills you have keeps you the best you can be. Eclesiates I believe said “there is no new thing under the sun” Each generation thinks and tells the previous one ” that was then when you were young, things are different now” Og says I am no longer fooled by the garments they wear for my eyes are open. I look beyond the cloth and I am not decieved. The same opposition exists today that ever has. It is just dressed differently, it is in disguise, but “truth is knowledge of things as they are, as they were, and as they will be”. Knowledge is the universal and this MKMMA course is a proccess of breaking off the cement, especially from our eyes. As we see, and think we become. Again I love your blog and I now know a little more about youa and you know a little more about me. Mostly we know we are more alike than different. We walk roads we think are different, but not so much as we may think. This is “Masterminding” Aint it funner than all get out? I am reminded of the quote “no man is an island” I have lived or tried to live as an Island. This is SO much better. That sounds like an opinion, but when something is true doesn’t it stop being opinion?

    Like

  2. Hi Willena. Glad you’re getting to study Charles Haanel. There were so many great thinkers during that period of time, and there is so much to learn from them. I love the ‘ease and perfection’ lesson. Things do get easier the more we do them. Things that I do consistently, I can do well without thought. If I seldom do them, I have to learn all over again. Thanks for this post.

    All the best,
    Leslie

    Like

  3. Hello Willena! First let me say Kudo’s to you my friend sewing not one but two dresses by hand Yikes I have a hard time sewing on a button hehe.

    I guess it does go to show that consistency wins out every time HUH?

    Thank YOU And Do Keep up the good work my friend.. Chery :))

    Like

  4. I love that you bring up repetition. Though we want to change our thinking, habits and circumstances, the old, cold walls of dialog keep us trapped from escaping and also keep us blocked from receiving the things we desire and deserve. The only way to free ourselves is to weaken the walls by reprogramming our inner dialog and the only way to reprogram this is through repetition of new self supporting, healthy words and beliefs. By doing a regular practice of reprogramming, your old walls will weaken and you will be open to new creation and receiving.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Hi Willena, What an inspiring post. Sewing 2 dresses by hand; very impressive. I sew and I do understand what all that involves. Using that to reference to the beginning, middle and end of your book or anything for that matter created a great visualization while I was reading. Thank you.

    Like

  6. I can SO (not SEW) relate to your post! I am seeing this “bogged down in the middle” while unpacking and setting up my new house. It went fast at first…now I’m in the drudgery of the middle…and at the same time I’m encouraged and inspired to keep going thanks to your post. Perhaps the finish line will present itself sooner than expected. 🙂

    Like

  7. Willena, this is one of my favorite passages in week 17 of the Master Keys, I also mentioned it in my blog…In essence Practice makes Perfect and until you get there…Try and Try and Try again…until you Succeed…Peace.

    Like

  8. Hi Willena,

    I loved the way you shared your story. It really hit home, not that I sew, but other things I have done in the past. It helped me reflect how many times I’ve tried and tried until I FINALLY got through.

    Very insightful post and I thank you,

    -Donna

    Like

Leave a Reply

