Home » My Thoughts » Week 13 – NARC and Fink and The Gal in the Glass

Week 13 – NARC and Fink and The Gal in the Glass

NARC

Do you know what NARC is?

Hint: It has nothing to do with narcotics or narcissism.

NARC stands for Neurological Associative Reactive Conditioning, and it has everything to do with the Law of Dual Thought.
Pleasure feels good. Pain feels bad. Plants and animals do not have a choice as to whether something will cause pain or pleasure. Only humans have the power to attach pain or pleasure to having something or not having it. YOU choose what experiences you want to associate with pain or pleasure.

In a previous blog post I shared the important role this concept played in my life at this time of the year five years ago, when we lost our eldest son, James. Since we drive through the accident site many times a week, I knew I had to do something or the pain would be unbearable. So instead I chose to see it as the place where James met his God face to face… his Portal to Heaven.

NARC is a dramatic and powerful way of conditioning myself to react consistently in a positive way to what could otherwise have very negative results. I’ve already seen this at work in other areas of my life. I’m looking forward to seeing how it will affect me as a writer.

 

Fink

From The Greatest Secret, by Earl Nightingale…

An outstanding medical doctor once pointed out six steps that will help you realize success:
1. Set yourself a definite goal.
2. Quit running yourself down.
3. Stop thinking of all the reasons you cannot be successful, and instead, think of all the reasons why you can.
4. Trace your attitudes back through your childhood and try to discover where you first got the idea you couldn’t be successful.
5. Change the image you have of yourself by writing out a description of the person you would like to be.
6. Act the part of the successful person you have decided to become.

The doctor who wrote those words is the noted west coast psychiatrist, Dr. David Harold Fink.

 

The Gal in the Glass

Every one of Dr. Fink’s six steps is taken care of in the Master Key course… but especially the daily reading of The Guy [Gal] in the Glass, by Dale Wimbrow. I could not explain better than these powerful thoughts from our Week 13 Webinar…

Think of April 2015. What will your future self want you to be doing right now — today? Will you awe your future self? Will you be strong? Or will you make all kinds of excuses as to why it won’t work? Will you finish your story? Can you stay strong enough?

The gal in the glass is your Best Friend! She’s the link to your Future You. Give your future self prosperity — not problems. YOU are in charge, so stay on the exercises. Be your future self NOW. Treat your future self the way you want to be treated NOW.

That says it all for me. In every of life — family, health, happiness, business, writing — giving my future self prosperity rather than problems means making the best choices NOW.

Increase in me that wisdom
Which discovers my truest interest,
Strengthen my resolution
To perform that which wisdom dictates.
~ Franklin

17 thoughts on “Week 13 – NARC and Fink and The Gal in the Glass

  1. Fascinating blog, I really enjoyed this Rose, you hit the nail on the head absolutely and amazing that you chose to practise NARC,this law of dual thought and substitution in such a tragic loss. How strong you are. Love to you ā¤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I always learn something new when I visit her Willena. I’d never heard of NARC. I’m very familiar with the “Girl in the Glass” poem though. I used to have it stuck to my fridge and find it very empowering. I uploaded it to my Facebook profile as a note.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. We tell ourselves we hurt..we have programmed our brains with what hurts and what does not. We hurt ourselves with things that have not even happened yet.. we stress about what is happening tomorrow… next week and it has not happened yet.. why do we do that? Pain is temporary. Thank you for your post. Have a great new year.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Excellent post Willena. Great topics and supporting quotes / information. Love it when people walk the talk and it’s very easy to see how you are doing just that. Stay positive and continue to guide others on how to do the same. It’s a short and precious journey. Best of luck in 2015.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Willena,
    How interesting! We never think ahead to our future self only a few months out. Usually we think of an entire year – next January 1st. Bu thinking instead about next April (my birthday month and only 4 months from now) makes it very real and very pressing. This makes me realize I have to do it NOW if I want to see results in only 4 months. When I think about a year from now, I can procrastinate and put it off because there’s still time.

    So today, I started my year of working out. Got to the health club early because it is closing early and I have a webinar to watch at 3 PM. And in the next few days I am planning my strategy for 2015, but now I am adding a more pressing piece – by April.

    Happy new year my friend. I always enjoy reading your inspirational blogs.
    Looks as if you’ve taken a new course. Would love to hear more about it.

    Warmly,

    Dr. Erica

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Hello Willena, This is the first time I have heard about NARC! You have done a great job of introducing this thought process for us.

    I am happy that it has helped you to find a way to deal with your loss. You are a very strong and determined gal!

    Thanks you for sharing & Happy New Year My Friend!! Chery :))

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Hi Willena,
    thank you for sharing these great suggestions.

    When we experienced difficult life situations like you have it is so good to have tools to handle our feelings that are triggered.

    Much appreicated!
    Love and Light!
    Yorinda

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Willena, this is a natural process if one doesn’t over think it?

    We all have the ability to imagine and then shape that into clarity to focus on executing daily activities. That will give us the end result visioned.

    The willingness and self-discipline is the hardest to begin on this future vision of self.

    Wonderful layout of how it is achieved. Now, we just have to put in into your lifestyle. Voluntary change is the beginning.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I never heard of the NARC acronym before and am certainly glad I came across this post. Your writing is very inspiring. I sincerely hope that your genuine effort reaches many in 2015. I will do my part to share. šŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

