Home » My Thoughts » Week 11 – Connections

Week 11 – Connections

My husband came home from the grocery store today with a translucent container of alphabet pasta. It brought an immediate smile to my face, because it took me back to one special evening during my first year in Pioneer Girls at my church. We made a little wall plaque out of popsicle sticks, and glued bits of alphabet macaroni onto it to form a favourite Bible verse. I chose the first half of John 14:6 — Jesus saith unto him, I am the way, the truth and the life: no man cometh unto the Father but by me.

We received an invitation in the mail last week, to attend the Christmas banquet at Mount Carmel Bible College, where our son Timothy is a student this year. The banquet was to be held on Thursday, December 11 at 6:00 PM.

“December 11,” I said to my husband. Serious mixed feelings here.

Friday, December 11, 2009 was the evening of another special occasion. We thought we were celebrating the marriage of our daughter, but God had another celebration in mind. We didn’t know it would be the last time our family would be together… Dad, Mom, and seven children. We didn’t know that the following evening, December 12, we would lose our eldest son.

As I watched Timothy singing on stage tonight with his classmates, I was struck for the thousandth time by how much he looks like his big brother. That thought was immediately followed by another. Timothy is not James. He is a young man in his own right, with his own unique talents and gifts to offer, and a whole future ahead of him.

It’s good to make connections, and it’s good to remember, but not if it takes away from the present or the immense possibilities for the future.

From this week’s reading in The Master Key, Charles Haanel writes:

We frequently hear it said, “A very distressing situation came into my life, which could not have been the result of my thought, as I certainly never entertained any thought which could have such a result.” We fail to remember that like attracts like in the mental world, and that the thought which we entertain brings to us certain friendships, companionships of a particular kind, and these in turn bring about conditions and environment, which in turn are responsible for the conditions of which we complain.

Given the recent loss of my mom, and what this week represents to me, perhaps it’s understandable that I had a hard time with that passage. For days I could not get past it. I reacted to it. Because that was my precise reaction when our son died. It was a very distressing situation, and it could not have been the result of my thought, because even if I had entertained such thoughts (which I hadn’t), there is no way my son would have suffered as a result of my thoughts.

And then I watched the replay of our webinar from last Sunday, and was reminded of something Haanel said in our reading a couple of weeks ago.

If you wish to change conditions you must change yourself.

What are my conditions? Are they only the things that happen to me? Certainly I bring about a whole lot of what happens in my life. But I think what Haanel is saying goes further than that. My conditions are not what happens to me. My conditions are what I make of what happens to me. I can be in the worst place on earth, or the worst place in my life, but the sun can shine in my heart and I can see the humour and beauty in life. And in that scenario, my conditions look much brighter and I can smile and find joy in it.

No matter what situation I find myself in, I can — I must — I will — say and believe these empowering words…

“I am whole, perfect, strong, powerful, loving, harmonious and happy.”

This week in our Master Key Course is all about connections — of the good and positive kind. Today I am making new connections, based on that empowering statement. Connections which reach out to my family, and to those whose lives I will touch as I fulfill my Definite Major Purpose in life. Because…

I AM whole,
I AM perfect,
I AM strong,
I AM powerful,
I AM loving,
I AM harmonious, and
I AM happy.

32 thoughts on “Week 11 – Connections

  1. This is moving and always touches my heart. You share your life journey with all of us for so many years. It seems being in that state of mind. Gaining the perception, that they are with God. Beings some comfort that you will be reunited with acending, yet not now.

    They all live through you Wilena. I live it and feel it with you. Coming to a heart felt understanding. This is the place you are at now.

    May we find courage and strengthened faith. From this reading and sharing. I am honored and blessed to have you in my life all these years.

    Love and peace to your family and self.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Loss is so tough. It was just like yesterday that I lost my son, but actually it was 11 years ago. This post helped me a lot. It seems like I have been just floating through life for many years because of so much loss and hurt. Having a different outlook/positive mindset is not easy after loss, but I think it is necessary. Thanks for sharing and helping.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Nate. 11 years may seem like a lot to others, but it’s nothing when it comes to the loss of one of your children. Sometimes it seems like I am floating too, and I don’t want to do that. I want to move ahead.

      Like

  3. Hello Willena! What an Amazing Post from an Amazing Lady! I do have to tell you that every time I visit your blog I am always left with such a comforting feeling..

    Thank you for sharing your life and I AM Statements that help you get though your toughest moments..

    Chery :))

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I applaud you for sharing your story and addressing such emotional and testing tragedies. My wife lost her sister and father in the same year. Life can be so very difficult, and finding the inner strength to prevail is a battle that we all continue to face. I hope your story finds people who can learn from it; which is exactly what I’m trying to do with my work. May you continue to thrive on with such purpose. God bless you.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Hi Willena,

    Thank You so much for sharing your journey to help teach us a valuable lesson. I am so sorry for your losses.

    For me this sentence says it all “My conditions are what I make of what happens to me.”
    Your “I am’s” remind me that I need to be all those things in order for others (my connections) to thrive to their best abilities.

    Best,
    Monisha

    Liked by 1 person

  6. It was the anniversary of my father’s death this week – 46 years ago. I looked at some photos of us together: he holding me when I was a few days old, making sandcastles with him on the beach. I know he hadn’t planned on going on the beach that day as he was dressed in suit and tie 🙂 Knowing that he did so for me brought warm thoughts and feelings. It’s those kinds of thoughts that help me through loss.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Hi Willena,
    This post really got to me. No matter how much time goes by, loss of a loved one never is forgotten. You are a wonderful woman sharing this story and give us hope and courage for ourselves. I lost my dad and grandfather during the month of December. It was a long time ago, but my heart still breaks during this time.

    -Donna

    Liked by 1 person

    • Time is a funny thing, isn’t it, Donna. I still can’t believe James isn’t going to come walking through our front door.

      Like

  8. I love your message of recognition Willena, that if you wish to change conditions, you must change yourself…
    although in your circumstances, do be gentle upon yourself and honour your loss
    And I love and commend your words

    I AM whole,
    I AM perfect,
    I AM strong,
    I AM powerful,
    I AM loving,
    I AM harmonious, and
    I AM happy.

    these are from a true courageous spirit, you are amazing to share your feelings, faith and lessons with us

    … thank you.

    I am saving this post on my special Pinterest board… because I want to visit your strength, generosity and warm spirit again.

    Jacs

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Hi WIllena, My thoughts and prayers are with you at this time of year. I listened to Joel Osteen on TV this morning and he had talked about some of the same that you have here. That there is a reason for everything that happens and it is up to us how we deal with it. While I’m yet to figure out why you have had to go through your trials and I am yet to figure out mine,.. I’m not even sure what I’m trying to say here. but somehow I think you will understand. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

