Home » My Thoughts » Week 7 – Linking Two Concepts

Week 7 – Linking Two Concepts

This week we were asked to practise the Law of Substitution, and we were also asked to focus on the Law of Forgiveness.

The Master Key course is incremental, which means each step builds on the ones before. At first I wondered why we were to focus on TWO laws, when we hadn’t focused on either one before. But then I took a closer look at these two laws from “Seven Laws of the Mind”…

Law of Forgiveness

To access the Divine and connect the subconscious to the Omnipotent, Omniscient and Omnipresent Creator we must forgive everyone and anyone to clear the channel. There can be no connection to the Divine mind where anger or resentment against a brother or sister, justified or not, exists.

Forgiveness is a tough concept for many people who have been seriously hurt and damaged by others in their past. But forgiveness is the only way one can ever get past the hurt, overcome the damage, and move forward in glorious freedom and growth. Forgiveness does not mean that what the other person did is okay — nor does it mean that person ever has to be a part of one’s life again. Forgiveness means letting go of what happened in the past, and not allow the event or the person to have any power over today.

What is the only way to get rid of negative thoughts that persist in popping up? Substitution!

Law of Substitution

We cannot think about two things at the same time. If a negative thought enters your mind ~ try to think about God instead. If that is too big a reach at the time, use any fond memory or other pleasant thought. Jesus, the Master Teacher, said, “Resist not evil” ~ meaning turn from it and think about something else instead.

We are coming up to the five year mark since the day we lost our son James. Every time we go to town, we drive through the spot where the accident occurred. Today, there’s another reminder, because the world outside my living room window is pure, pristine, beautiful white — a winter wonderland of snow and hoar frost. The night James died, the world looked like that. There were pockets of dense ice fog, so thick he probably didn’t even see the stop sign or realize he had reached the highway. Death was instant.

Fog and hoar frost are fairly common during the winter in northern Alberta. And we take regular trips into town. I had to find a way of not becoming unglued every time. One day as we neared the crossroads where the accident occurred, it struck me that I didn’t have to think of what happened that night. Instead of seeing the accident site, I could see it as James’ Portal to Heaven — the place where he met the Lord He loved, and went Home to be with Him.

Such a small thing, yet what a huge shift for me! It made all the difference for me. Every time I do it, I can feel the tension, the fear, and the sorrow drain from me, and love and gratitude flood in and buoy me up.

That’s what the Law of Substitution is all about. It works hand in hand with the Law of Forgiveness, because in many cases you can’t have one without the other.

25 thoughts on “Week 7 – Linking Two Concepts

  1. What an enlightening post! Such a clear explanation of the two concepts. Forgiving is so hard sometimes, usually it’s personal egos that get in the way of that. I work on this daily! Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. We tend to think that forgive means to “let someone off” for what they’ve done but it’s really an attitude isn’t it. It’s the process of stopping feeling resentful or upset for what happened rather than the actions we take.

    Now you’ve got me thinking about it, I realize that substitution often happens without us thinking because we love or like a person, see other good things in them or find a reason that caused the behavior. Even that process can take a bit of time. Using substitution in a conscious way to forgive and change our feelings is powerful. Thanks Willena.

    I’m so pleased that you can now pass that spot on the road and have positive thoughts.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sue, I agree that we use substitution a lot without thinking about it. I like this exercise because it gets us thinking about it, and being more aware of what we are thinking, and taking a conscious step to do something about it where necessary.

      Like

  3. Willena, What a inspiring post! I just listened to a webinar from Bob Proctor from The Secret and MindValley Academy about the 11 forgotten laws and these two laws were covered during the class. Both laws are so important for moving forward in life and tapping into the joy and goodness that is available to everyone. I am so happy the laws have had a positive impact on your life and handling your grief for your son James. Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I love how this is coming together for you. And I agree with the comment above; that people do associate forgiveness with letting people off, it’s letting go of the pain.

    I also need to be more aware of substitution.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. “Forgiveness means letting go of what happened in the past, and not allow the event or the person to have any power over today.” This brought tears to my eyes. I have had to forgive people that I haven’t figured out how. This helps … thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Your demonstration of the law of substitution, given the crushing loss you suffered, serves as a powerful lesson to those of us fortunate enough not to have experienced such a blow. How simple is for us to rid ourselves of the petty frustrations so many of us allow to consume our lives. God bless you for your generosity of sharing

    Liked by 1 person

    • Even when we’ve learned this lesson in the big things, as I have more than once in my life… it’s still a day by day, moment by moment thing to do it all the time. The little foxes spoil the vine…

      Like

  7. Hello Willena, Wow what an article, I have one person in mind that I have not been able to let go of this feeling of forgiveness my friend! This has brought things to a new light for me perhaps I need to step back and figure out how this law of substitution can work in this case..

    Thanks for sharing.. Chery :))

    Liked by 1 person

    • I love it when old truths are presented in a new way, or from a different approach. It freshens them and makes them come alive for me again.

      Like

  8. Inspirational Willena. For the most part I’m a very forgiving person and I owe my parents for that because it took a long time to get to the point of genuinely feeling they simply did the best they could and that’s pretty much become my philosophy. I’m far from perfect however and to me intent is the key. If someone hurts me or mine out of shear selfishness or malice, I won’t be forgiving and forgetting anytime soon but that doesn’t mean I carry a grudge. I simply choose not to allow them to be a part of my life any longer.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sometimes it’s the tough things in life that teach us the most important lessons.

      My mom wasn’t perfect in raising us, but as my sister commented to me today, she is an amazingly strong woman for what she went through. She was only 28 when my father died, leaving her with 3 small children. When she remarried a year later, her life was not easy with an alcoholic husband. She was the one who held the family together through some pretty tough times.

      Forgiving someone does not mean allowing the person back into your life. Sometimes that would be the worst thing.

      Like

  9. Willena, thank you for sharing about your example on how to use the law of substitution… my condolences about what has happened to your son, it is admirable how you are able to “substitute” your thoughts with god… it is something that was recommended to me not long ago so I will definitively be following suit thanks to your example.

    p.s. I am very intrigued about this master key course now. I will be looking into it a bit more.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Hi Victoria,

    The masterkey course is held once a year, for six months. It won’t open again till next fall, BUT… you can follow what some of the folk are getting out of it by reading blogs from my sidebar. It’s well worth your time! πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

