Home » My Thoughts » Week 6 – Observing, Creating, and Loving

Week 6 – Observing, Creating, and Loving

Observing

“The greatest hindrance to accomplishing results is erroneous and fixed ideas.”  ~ Charles Haanel

That is the reason for our challenge last week, of expressing NO opinions unless specifically asked, and unless it’s an area of expertise for me. Instead I am an Observer — not judging or criticizing myself, but watching and noticing how often I’m tempted to give my opinion when I’m not asked to.

Observing without speaking slows me down, and gives me a chance to stop and think about my opinions. Are they truth, or are they erroneous? Am I willing to consider new ideas or new angles, or are they fixed ideas?

Creating

One thing that has always bothered me about the way the Law of Attraction is presented, is that everything in my life today is a result of my predominant thoughts and desires, and that I am responsible for it. If I am fearful that I will lose my job or my health, that’s exactly what will happen. But if it were that simple, what happens when there is a conflict among different individuals thinking about the same thing?

In this week’s lesson, Haanel puts it into perspective for me.

“Thought is a product of Mind and Mind is creative, but this does not mean that the Universal will change its modus operandi to suit us or our ideas, but it does mean that we can come into harmonious relationship with the Universal, and when we have accomplished this we may ask anything to which we are entitled, and the way will be made plain.”  ~ Charles Haanel

In other words, a lot of things that happen in my life are not the result of my thinking at all, but I do have full control over how I allow it to affect me. If I lose my health, I have a choice. I can give up, and set in motion a series of events that will cause continually worsening health… or I can take every step possible to build my health up, which will make me feel better and maybe even restore me to full health.

Loving

One of our assignments this week is to look myself in the eye each evening and tell myself, with enthusiasm, “I love you, Willena Flewelling!” I still find that tough to do.

I often hear people say it’s wrong to “love myself”, because that is self-centered and selfish. Granted, it can be. It depends on how I look at it, and how I approach it.

This is taken from The Scroll Marked II, I will greet this day with love in my heart, by Og Mandino.

“Most of all I will love myself. For when I do I will zealously inspect all things which enter my body, my mind, my soul, and my heart. Never will I overindulge the requests of my flesh; rather I will cherish my body with cleanliness and moderation. Never will I allow my mind to be attracted to evil and despair, rather I will uplift it with the knowledge and wisdom of the ages. Never will I wllow my soul to become complacent and satisfied, rather I will feed it with meditation and paryer. Never will I allow my heart to become small and bitter, rahter I will share it and it will grow and warm the earth.” 

Now that makes sense! It has nothing to do with selfishness or self-centeredness, and everything to do with diligently guarding what enters my body, my mind, my soul, and my heart. To love myself means doing things that will increase my strength and stability in every way — physically, mentally, spiritually, and emotionally. Only to the extent that I do this, will I be able to love others in sincerity and truth.

20 thoughts on “Week 6 – Observing, Creating, and Loving

  1. Willena, thank you very much for posting this…..”In other words, a lot of things that happen in my life are not the result of my thinking at all, but I do have full control over how I allow it to affect me. If I lose my health, I have a choice. I can give up, and set in motion a series of events that will cause continually worsening health… or I can take every step possible to build my health up, which will make me feel better and maybe even restore me to full health.”

    I too have had the exact same question before and your insight brought me great comfort. Thank you thank you thank you

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Willena, Your post just made me feel good when I read it. I believe a lot of people take it to the extreme when they say “love yourself.” As you said, done right there is nothing wrong with it and it will set in motion a lot of positive things. Have a great day.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. It is so interesting that we all appear to be learning and growing and all fighting old blueprints. Do you suppose Mark Davene etc etc actually know what they are talking about. If i could express an opinion I would, but my observation and question seem to speak for themselves. Tell me what you feel. Is a feeling an opinion?

    Liked by 1 person

    • I suspect Mark & Davene know what they’re talking about all right. And they go through this same process every year with a new group of people.

      Like

  4. Hello Willena,

    Great message you have here. You have to learn to never give up regardless of the situation or circumstances. Health is one of my favorite subjects to talk about because it is one the you have a lot of control over, other than major genetic illnesses or cancer. It is never too late to change your lifestyle and habits. Eat healthy, exercise, and care for others 🙂 Thank you for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Hello Willena, I don’t see anything at all wrong with telling yourself you LOVE YOU! I have learned a long time ago that I Am my own best friend! Oh Yeh I wake up every morning and look in the mirror and say Good Morning Chery! Love Ya Girl!

    This is such a great way to start my day. Self Talk Rocks!

    I am curious to find out how you do with this exercise, I think this is one you will learn to LOVE!!

    Love Always Chery :))

    Liked by 1 person

    • It comes more easily to some than to others. It took me a while to discover I was my own worst enemy. To love myself means learning to be my own best friend!

      Like

  6. Hi Willena,

    Love this post 🙂 And it came at just the right time for me. I have just been diagnosed with Diabetes and now I literally have to watch what I put inside my body. I have to admit it does scare me but like you said I can either give up and let my health go downhill or I can take control of my feelings and actions and love myself enough to get back to full health.

    Thanks again
    Gillian:)

    Liked by 1 person

  7. What a great teaching Willena. I love the part you talk about loving yourself and telling yourself . I feel if you can love yourself and tell yourself you are able to genuinely love others and tell them too. Like you say you build yourself physically, mentally, spiritually, and emotionally.
    Thanks for sharing

    Liked by 2 people

  8. Hi Willena,

    I am loving this journey you are posting. Here, when you discuss “Love Yourself” is one of those things people can throw around haphazardly. But when you really get into it, and find ways of loving who you are…real deep down into your soul, it is a wonderful thing.

    In the past, I had to learn this lesson. Then I realized that if I was going to help others, I would have to love myself in order to do so effectively. I must say, I did work on this one extensively.

    -Donna

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

