Home » My Thoughts » Week 1 – Today I Begin a New Life

Week 1 – Today I Begin a New Life

“Today I begin a new life.

“Today I shed my old skin, which hath, too long, suffered the bruises of failure and the wounds of mediocrity.

“Today I am born anew and my birthplace is a vineyard where there is fruit for all.”

These words, taken from Og Mandino’s Scroll #1 speak volumes to me. I don’t know what the future holds for me, but this I know… I am on the threshold of a brand new life.

The beauty of it is, each day is a new day, the beginning of a new life. Not in the endless frustration and futility of the movie, Groundhog Day, but as a fresh new start which will build on lessons learned in the days and weeks before. The time has come to shed that old skin, the old life which is so full of pain and sorrow, and move on from this point forward.

A friend wisely reminded me recently that I am not defined by my weight, my IQ, or even the events in my past. Sorrow has been my constant companion in recent years, as our family suffered the loss of two of our members who were far too young to die. But I am not defined by my sorrow. I have learned much from it, and I continue to learn, but it does not define me. I am the same person today that I was five years ago. What I do with what has happened, is what will make the difference as to who I become in the coming months.

I choose to shed the limitations and shackles I have allowed to control me, and instead, embrace the lessons and live life to the fullest from this time forward.

Today is a new day. I am a new person. I am standing in that vineyard, amidst an abundance of ripe fruit ready for harvesting. And I am ready!

Saturday night postscript…

“Harmony in the world within means the ability to control our thoughts, and to determine for ourselves how any experience is to affect us.”  ~ Charles Haanel

What a valuable seed to plant in my garden right now, on the threshold of my future! It is the key to understanding the concept of my creating my own reality, and that everything in my world is because of my own beliefs. When my son died, did that have anything to do with me and my thoughts?? Hardly. Some things “just are”. But what I do with that — controlling my thoughts — has everything to do with my world in the days and years since.

 

 

 

 

 

10 thoughts on “Week 1 – Today I Begin a New Life

  1. Wow, that is a great quote and it is a powerful one as well. Even though I do love the Groundhog Day movie, you should never live by this principle. You belief that your past mistakes, failures, and experiences will make you develop into something new and strong will truly take you far in life. Work hard, embrace the failures, and achieve greatness. Thank you for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks Kyle. 🙂 I also love the imagery in the closing thought of Scroll #1…

    “Today my old skin has become as dust. I will walk tall among men and they will know me not, for today I am a new man, with a new life.”

    Like

  3. Change is an interesting thing, Willena.

    As you close one door, another one opens. In reality, we always change, yet we remain the same.

    This was the well-known dilemma posed through the metaphor of the acorn.

    An acorn grows into a tree, which is clearly a major change from being an acorn. Yet, the mighty oak tree is never essentially different than the acorn, which lives on in every one of its cells.

    We are different today than we were as young children. But have we truly “shed our skin” or has it transformed into something partly new, yet rooted deeply, even essentially in its past?

    I wish you well on your journey forward, Willena. It’s an exciting thing.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I agree with you, David. We don’t really shed our skin. Another example I can think of is the butterfly, which is essentially the same as the caterpillar.

      I think when Og Mandino penned those words, he meant we shed the casing we’ve allowed to grow around us since the time we were small children. Shed the casing and find out who we really are, and then we can BE that person.

      Like

  4. Gee Willena. Powerful stuff here. We are all on a journey and our past experiences tend to mould and shape us. How we deal with situations ( and this depends on past experiences and mindset) which present themselves show people who we really are. I wish you well…
    Take care.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Hi Willena,
    losses and childhood wounds can at times affect the way we feel, when triggered.
    Living consciously and reminding ourselves of what you write about so eloquently is a daily practice.
    Yes, each day is a new day, the first day of the rest of our life.

    Thank you so much for sharing your insights!
    Love and Light!
    Yorinda

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Yorinda. There is an emptiness that will never be filled. But good memories help, and I am truly blessed with a wonderful husband and our family of wonderful children.

      Like

Leave a Reply

